Ratnaguna gives a commentary on the Upajjhatthana Sutta

In this Sutta, the Buddha introduces the five things that everyone should reflect on often, “whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained”

  1. I am subject to ageing, have not gone beyond ageing
  2. I am subject to illness, have not gone beyond illness
  3. I am subject to death, have not gone beyond death
  4. I will grow different, separate from all that is dear and appealing to me
  5. I am the owner of my actions, heir to my actions, born of my actions, related through my actions, and have my actions as my arbitrator. Whatever I do, for good or for evil, to that will I fall heir

Given at an Order Practice Day at Manchester Buddhist Centre, 29th January 2012

Share This