The sixth talk in the Sev­en­fold Puja series at the Manchester Buddhist Centre, Rejoicing in Merits

Delivered on 22nd February 2010 by Buddhashanti

Includes Ratnaguna rejoicing in Buddhashanti’s merits, and questions and answers

The Sevenfold Puja

The Sevenfold Puja is used as a collective devotional practice and derives from a Mahayana Buddhist text by Shantideva called the Bodhicaryavatara – a kind of manual for aspiring Bodhisattvas. It takes one through seven spiritual moods ultimately designed to arouse the Bodhicitta, the will to Enlightenment.

1. Worship
2. Salutation
3. Going For Refuge
Followed by the refuges and precepts
4. Confession of faults
5. Rejoicing in Merits
6. Entreaty and Supplication
7. Transference of Merit and Self-surrender

Share This