Third talk in a series at Manchester Buddhist Centre on the Sevenfold Puja, given on 25th January 2010 by Suryaka, in which she covers the topic of Salutation

In this talk Suryaka explores the range of possible responses we can have to Buddhism, from contentment with worldly life, to intellectual agreement with Buddhism, or to the wholesale devotion exemplified by Shantideva.

The Sevenfold Puja

The Sevenfold Puja is used as a collective devotional practice and derives from a Mahayana Buddhist text by Shantideva called the Bodhicaryavatara – a kind of manual for aspiring Bodhisattvas. It takes one through seven spiritual moods ultimately designed to arouse the Bodhicitta, the will to Enlightenment.

1. Worship
2. Salutation
3. Going For Refuge
Followed by the refuges and precepts
4. Confession of faults
5. Rejoicing in Merits
6. Entreaty and Supplication
7. Transference of Merit and Self-surrender

Share This