The Sevenfold Puja – drawn from the Bodhicaryavatara – is the main devotional ceremony performed at the Manchester Buddhist Centre

In this talk, the second in a 2010 series on the Puja, Maniraja explores the first section: Worship

The Sevenfold Puja

The Sevenfold Puja is used as a collective devotional practice and derives from a Mahayana Buddhist text by Shantideva called the Bodhicaryavatara – a kind of manual for aspiring Bodhisattvas. It takes one through seven spiritual moods ultimately designed to arouse the Bodhicitta, the will to Enlightenment.

1. Worship
2. Salutation
3. Going For Refuge
Followed by the refuges and precepts
4. Confession of faults
5. Rejoicing in Merits
6. Entreaty and Supplication
7. Transference of Merit and Self-surrender

Share This